Bit's & bob's, Yoga

Things don’t always turn out the way we want…

Today was the first International Day of Yoga, as I’m on my holiday I couldn’t teach a yoga class, but I had planned to join in with fellow Iyengar yoga practioneers and do the sequence Geeta Iyengar had designed as a tribute to Guruij B.K.S Iyengar.

But the universe had other plans, as I started to get a migraine headache in the early evening yesterday, which was getting worse and kept waking me up. Now I have to say I do get mild migraines and I usually only get them once every year or so and haven’t had one in the  last two years. I do get sensitive to light but not to bad. I had promised my sons to go crab fishing and my husband to show him the west coast. When I went to bed last night with a pounding headache I knew it was no way I’ll be doing yoga in the morning and I said to myself, maybe I can do it later on.

When I woke up again with a pounding headache I finally got up to get some headache tablets and a cold, wet face cloth to soothe my head. I thought to myself it’s no way I can do the yoga sequence I was suppose to do, and how was I going to be able to drive the whole  one hour and 20 min drive to the coast, I told my husband we’ll be going as I knew how dissapointed the lads would me, he offered to drive even though we drive on the right side in Sweden and he has never done it. After a while I did get up and my head felt a bit better. Then after another hour, I was almost back to my own self. 

We hit the road and got there, pain killers safely in my bags (don’t really like to take them, but when you get these headaches you just know they won’t go away easy ), after a walk on the boardwalk we got to the place to fish for the crabs, but couldn’t get any mussels, so me and Alvin walked back to see if we could buy some, I could feel the pounding headache slowly making itself noticeable. Finally back armed with €6-7 worth of mussels, I had to get some more tablets for my head. Which helped again, I even managed to get a few yoga asanas in so at least I joined in the celebrations of the first International Day of Yoga, even if it wasn’t what I had planned.

Driving home I could feel the pounding start again and it’s finally almost gone, so looking forward to wake up with no headache tomorrow…